Kyenjojo District was established on 28th November 2000 being curved out of Kabarole District and later gave birth to Kyegegwa District on 22nd December 2009. Administratively, the district has one county (Mwenge) and three constituencies (Mwenge North, Mwenge Central and Mwenge South), 18 sub counties, 9 Town Councils, 109 parishes, 47 wards and 853 villages.
The District boarders with Kibaale in the North, Kyegegwa in the East, Kamwenge in the South west, and Kabarole in the West and it is located in the mid-western at approximately 250Kms from Kampala City.